Lessons Learned Looking for a New Life

 

Sorry I haven’t posted the last few days. My husband and I have been in Florida. No, not a vacation, unfortunately. This was a serious search for a new place to live near Jacksonville, where our youngest daughter and family are now living. I learned a few things from this trip, and I thought I’d share.

  • It’s amazing how many apartment complexes require you to be 62 or older. Not there yet, even if  I feel like it sometimes.
  • Many places only allow one dog and we have two. They’re Dachshunds, and together they’re the size of a regular dog, but nobody would budge.
  • The only apartments available are on the second floor.

On the other hand:

  • Most complexes have exercise rooms
  • They people are nice
  • They don’t close the swimming pools in the winter

As for the area in general:

  • Jacksonville is much easier to navigate than Atlanta
  • Most places are easier to navigate than Atlanta
  • The traffic lights on San Jose are the longest in the country, if not the world
  • There are ponds everywhere, and I always wonder what lurks in the things
  • Out in the country, it’s DARK at night
  • Every road in the area has at least 2 names

It’s going to be hard leaving the state I grew up in a lived all my life, but I’m rapidly falling in love with Florida. Would you expect any less of a romance writer?

Take care!

Cheryel

About Cheryel Hutton

Are there secrets in the quiet little town of Ugly Creek? What are the Secrets of Ugly Creek? We'll find out soon. Secrets of Ugly Creek worldwide release on Wednesday, June 25!

Posted on January 17, 2014, in The New Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

